R. Viswanathan

President 1
Name R. Viswanathan
Designation Director
Complete postal Address with city code ICAR-Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow - 226002, Uttar Pradesh
Email IDs rasaviswanathan@yahoo.co.in
Mobile No. 9442543875

Brief Biodata

Birth & Educations: Born in Vellalapalayam, Tamil Nadu, India on 15 April 1963. Educated at Government High School, Paramathy 1973-78; Kandasamy Kandar Higher Secondary School, Paramathy Velur, 1978-80; Madras University, 1980-83; Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, 1983-89; B.Sc. Botany 1983; B.Sc. Agri. 1987; M.Sc. Agri. 1989; Ph.D. 1999.

Positions hold: Scientist, ICAR-NAARM, Hyderabad, ICAR-IIOSR, Hyderabad, ICAR-SBI, 1991-2000; Senior Scientist & Principal Scientist, 2000-2010; Head, Division of Crop Protection, ICAR-SBI, 2010-2022., Director ICAR - Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow. India 2022- till date

Awards/Honours: Hari Om Ashram Trust Award in Crop and Horticultural Sciences for the biennium 2016-17, ICAR, 2019; Sir T.S. Venkatraman Award for Outstanding Research Contribution in Sugarcane Agriculture for the biennium 2006-2007, 2008; Dr. M. Puttarudriah Memorial Endowment National Award for the best Plant Protection Research in India, 2012; DBT - Biotechnology Overseas Associateship 2007-08; M.S. Pavgi Memorial Award, Indian Phytopathological Society, New Delhi, 2020; Sir Syed Ahmed Khan memorial award (Above 45 years) from Aligarh Muslim University Centenary Award, Aligarh, India, 2021; Outstanding Agriculture Scientist Awards – 2020 for the commendable contribution to Plant Pathology and Higher Education by Dr. B. Vasantharaj David Foundation, Chennai 2020; Sugar Technologists Association of India-Noel Deerr Gold Medals 2000, 2002; Sugar Technologists Association of India-Silver Medal 2001; TNAU Late Janab Peer Mohamed Award and Nathaniel Memorial Award, 2000; Robertson Prize, Food and Agricultural Organization Prize, The Glogstoun Prize and Kees Prize, 1987 (TNAU); Member, Pathology Section of International Society of Sugar Cane Technologists, Mauritius, 2013-19; Principal Investigator, AICRP on Sugarcane (Pathology), 2011 onwards, Convener, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences - Coimbatore Chapter, 2018 onwards.

Fellow: Indian Phytopathological Society 2012; Indian Society of Mycology and Plant Pathology 2013; National Academy of Biological Sciences, 2013; Indian Virological Society 2014; Society for Sugar Research and Promotion, 2019; Society for Sugarcane Research and Development, Coimbatore 2020

Research Areas: Sugarcane Pathology, Molecular Plant Pathology, host-pathogen interaction, Molecular diagnosis.