Indian Phytopathological Society 

New Delhi




Dr. R.K. Jain (Rakesh Kumar Jain) was born on 21 May 1956 in Rohtak, India. He did his B.Sc. from Punjab University, Chandigarh, in 1974, M.Sc. (Ag.) Plant Pathology, G.B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, in 1977 and Ph.D., Plant Pathology, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, in 1988, Post Doctoral Research Experience at CSIRO, Melbourne, Australia during 1990-91and at University of Georgia, Tifton, USA during 1997-98.

Dr. Jain started his service during 1978 at Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttack and continued upto 1984. He worked extensively there on bacterial blight of rice. After that he joined for Ph.D programme at IARI and completed his Ph.D during 1988. He joined Division of Mycology and Plant Pathology, IARI, New Delhi during 1986 as Senior Scientist and continued there in various positions viz. Senior Scientist, 1986-98, Principal Scientist 1998-2007, Head, Division of Plant Pathology, June 2007 to December 2013 and Dean, P.G. School from December 2013.During the period Dr. Jain contributed significantly inplant virology with special reference to diagnostics, molecular characterization and transgenics and published more than 80 research papers, reviews, bulletins, manuals and book chapters.

In view of his outstanding contributions, various awards and honours were conferred on him viz. IARI Gold Medal, 1989; FAO Fellowship, 1990-91; DBT Overseas Associateship, 1997-98; M.J. Narasimhan Award, 1999; IARI Best Teacher Award, 2004. NAAS Recognition Award 2005-06; Fellow, Indian Phytopathological Society (IPS) and National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS), Editor, Indian Phytopathology (1988-2004), Editor,  Indian Journal of Virology (2005- to date); Member, DBT Task Force on Agricultural Biotechnology (2006-2009);  Member, DBT RCGM Sub-Committees on Legumes and Vegetables. He was also associated with the Indian Phytopathological Society since 1977, participated in various activities as Zonal Councillor (1994), Editor (1988-2004), Organizing Secretary (2004) and President (2010).